Public Power Daily Logo

GOP selects new members, subcommittee leaders for House Energy and Commerce Committee

From the December 3, 2012 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published December 3, 2012

By Robert Varela
Editorial Director
House Energy and Commerce Committee Chairman Fred Upton, R-Mich., announced his choices to chair the panel’s subcommittees, including holdovers Ed Whitfield, R-Ky., to head the Energy and Power Subcommittee and John Shimkus, R-Ill., for the Environment and the Economy Subcommittee. He also welcomed five new GOP members to the committee and broadly outlined his agenda. "Jobs are, and will continue to be, job one," Upton said. The panel will fight "harmful and economically destructive regulations" and pursue "a visionary, all-of-the-above approach to energy," said the committee’s new vice chair, Rep. Marsha Blackburn, R-Tenn.

The five incoming Republicans on the committee are: Reps. Gus Bilirakis, R-Fla.; Renee Ellmers, R-N.C.; Ralph Hall, R-Texas; Bill Johnson, R-Ohio; and Billy Long, R-Mo.

Rep. Steve Scalise, R-La., will be the new vice chair of the Energy and Power Subcommittee, and Rep. Phil Gingrey, R-Ga., will be vice chair of the Environment and the Economy Subcommittee.

Other subcommittee chairs and vice chairs are: Commerce, Manufacturing and Trade, Lee Terry, R-Neb., chair, and Leonard Lance, R-N.J., vice chair; Communications and Technology, Greg Walden, R-Ore., chair, and Bob Latta, R-Ohio, vice chair; Health, Joe Pitts, R-Pa., chair, and Michael Burgess, R-Md., vice chair; and Oversight and Investigations, Tim Murphy, R-Pa., chair, and Michael Burgess, R-Md., vice chair.


Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.


  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)