Public Power Daily Logo

APPA offers July 16 governance webinar on Strategic Planning for Utility Boards and City Councils


From the July 9, 2013 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published July 9, 2013

By Meghan Riley
Education Coordinator
On Tuesday, July 16, APPA will hold a webinar, "Strategic Planning for Utility Boards and City Councils" from 2 to 3:30 p.m., Eastern time. This is the eighth in a series of nine webinars designed to educate public power board and city council members on the responsibilities and processes of electric utility governance.

Once legal and fiduciary duties are met, among the most important aspects of utility governance are establishing the mission/vision for the organization and setting the utility’s direction, usually through the strategic planning process. In this webinar, Jeff Tarbert, executive consultant for APPA, will examine one of several approaches to utility strategic planning and explain the board and/or council’s roles in that process.

The webinar is worth 0.2 continuing education units, 1.5 professional development hours and 1.5 continuing professional education credits. 

The final webinar in this series will address performance monitoring and accountability for boards and city councils. 

This webinar series also counts toward completing APPA’s new Public Utility Governance Certificate Program. To learn more about the program and other APPA governance training offerings, visit www.APPAAcademy.org under Governance Training or contact Heidi Lambert (202/467-2921;HLambert@PublicPower.org).  

For more information and to register, visit www.APPAAcademy.org under Webinar Series or contact Meghan Riley at MRiley@PublicPower.org or 202/467-2919.

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Senior Vice President, Publishing 
Jeanne Wickline LaBella
202/467-2948
JLaBella@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org